DIVERSIFICATION

My name is Aureliano Spelman Richard, I’m 40 years old, and I’ve been living in the community of Yahbra Tangni on the Coco River for 18 years.My wife and I have 9 children, 3 boys and 6 girls, and this year we sent our eldest off to study agriculture. I fell in love with farming at a very young age, but did a lot of slashing and burning new land.With the training that the technician gives us, I’ve changed my way of farming over the last five years. I was chosen as a voluntary promoter for AMC’s program, and I put 100% into helping my 4 farmers. I’m very grateful to AMC for the idea of saving seeds from one planting season to the next, because it has benefitted me greatly.I’ve learned to make soil retention barriers to prevent erosion and nutrient loss from the soil, using both pineapple plants and scrub. We plant vegetables between the barriers.We are growing a great variety of food plants, including oranges, grapefruit, mangoes, cashew fruit, guava, waterpears, and other tropical fruits, almonds, cocoa, bananas and plantains, sugarcane, cotton, beans, rice, wheat and root crops. I grow trees for both wood and shade. As part of a revolving fund, we were given 6 hens and a rooster by the AMC program. Our greatest income right now is from selling the chocolate that my wife makes from our cocoa – it sells quickly in our community.Our family is happy and healthy; thanks to the produce we eat from our own farm and the income it brings us.

Leave a Reply

